Why are members being added as inactive
Members are added into the system as Inactive, and as they are assigned a service or membership they become Active. As their service or membership expires they are again inactive. This enables the querying of the member database for member's who at one time had a membership and service, and no longer does.
If you do not want your member to go Inactive after both their service and membership closes, go to: Tools-> System Settings-> Other Settings; set [Inactivate Member at Service and Membership Close] to No.